St. Mary’s church, Chickney, Essex, was struck by lightning on 3rd May 1902, causing extensive damage to the spire. A grand total of £329 was raised so repairs could be undertaken but the building suffered further neglect over the years.
Further repairs were carried out in 1930 but eventually the cost of maintaining such an ancient building overcame the resources of the parish and in 1975 it was passed into the care of The Churches Conservation trust.
Today, visitors can find this hidden marvel open daily and particularly atmospheric. Stonework in the walls predates the Norman Conquest and that of the medieval font is a delight.
Slide the divider on the image below left and right to see how the church appears today, compared its condition in 1902 after the lightning strike.
The image on the left was taken in the early 1900s before repairs were started and that on the right during the long hot summer of 2019.
For more photographs of St. Mary’s, Chickney, please click here.